Skip to: site menu | section menu | main content

Bachelor's Degree With Individual Concentration

Spring 2008 Newsletter
Currently viewing: BDIC Spring 2008 Newsletter »

Happy Spring Students

Spring has finally sprung, BDIC students! The BDIC staff wishes you a happy, sunny last few weeks of classes.

There is, as always, much good news to share about the BDIC department.  The new BDIC director, Dan Gordon, began his new post at the beginning of the spring semester and is rapidly making headway in his efforts to improve BDIC.  You will see, later in the newsletter, an interview with him.  Dan very much wants to meet all of you, so please feel free to stop by the BDIC office and meet him. He will be interested in hearing your ideas for BDIC’s future.

Fall pre-registration has already begun, so if you haven’t already, come to BDIC soon to meet with Andrea or Linda. Graduating seniors especially should meet with an advisor to make sure all is in order for graduation.  And, May graduates, if you haven’t submitted your senior summaries yet, please be sure to do so in the next couple of weeks.

On Friday, May 2, students in the BDIC junior year writing class will be participating in the Undergraduate Research Conference, a state-wide event at which students showcase their research projects.  The Conference will run between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. in the lower level of the Campus Center.  Between 12  p.m. and 1 p.m., BDIC will sponsor an alumni forum in the graduate reading room (across from the Blue Wall).  Several interesting and accomplished BDIC alumni will be present, and you’ll have a chance to talk with them at the luncheon that follows the forum.  We’re hoping many of you can attend!  More about the Research Conference follows.

Congratulations to BDIC students who have earned prestigious awards. Kate Cessna, BDIC peer coordinator, and Elizabeth Oler were awarded the Senior Leadership award; Rachel Mandel was awarded the 21st Century Leaders scholarship; Danielle Dean will receive the Leaders in the Making award; Samantha Balaban was awarded the Robert B. Collins ’19 SSA scholarship; and Jennifer Kehoe was chosen for the William F. Field Alumni scholarship.


Back to top